Cycling Forums UK : www.veloriders.co.uk :: View topic - Does low cadence in high gears = knee injury?

Home FAQ Register Usergroups Search Memberlist Gallery StatisticsForum Sponsors •  Photo RequestProfile • Links Log in to check your private messagesLog inBC Eastmidlands

Does low cadence in high gears = knee injury?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Cycling Forums UK : www.veloriders.co.uk Forum Index -> Health & Fitness
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Gains
E, Bronze

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 6:09 pm    Post subject: Does low cadence in high gears = knee injury? Reply with quote

I only started riding about 2 months ago and am making good progress, but yesterday I noticed a sharp pain in my right knee and a dull ache in the other.
Since starting out I've generally favoured grinding away in a gear slightly higher than is comfortable rather than spinning the pedals in a lower gear.

Am I asking for trouble, or is the knee pain more likely to be a result of something else (saddle/ride position etc)?
Matteo
E, Gold

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 6:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Does low cadence in high gears = knee injury? Reply with quote

Gains wrote:
Am I asking for trouble

Yes

Try riding in a lower gear for a while and see if the pain goes.
Gains
E, Bronze

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, will do.

Should I expect improvements to slow down if I use lower gears? I'd got it into my head that by using a higher gear, I was having to work harder and would therefore get more out of it. That may be oversimplifying things a bit though Smile
Roy Gardiner
T de F Winner

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm.